PM Modi Applauds India’s SAFF Championship Win, Inspiring Future Athletes

Read Time:1 Minute, 29 Second

India clinches 9th SAFF Championships title, goalkeeper Gurpreet Singh Sandhu shines in thrilling final shootout victory over Kuwait, winning 5-4.

India secures record 9th SAFF Championship title. (Photo: PTI)

Prime Minister Narendra Modi commends India’s SAFF Championship triumph, highlighting the team’s ability to inspire upcoming sportspersons through their remarkable journey, determination, and tenacity.

India secured their ninth SAFF Championships title in a thrilling match against Kuwait, thanks to goalkeeper Gurpreet Singh Sandhu’s outstanding performance. The match, held on Tuesday, concluded with an intense penalty shootout, resulting in a 5-4 victory for India.

“India crowned champions, yet again! The Blue Tigers reign supreme at the #SAFFChampionship2023! Congrats to our players. The Indian Team’s remarkable journey, powered by the determination and tenacity of these athletes, will continue to inspire upcoming sportspersons,” tweeted the Prime Minister.

India emerges victorious in thrilling SAFF Championship final against Kuwait. After a 1-1 draw in regulation time, the match went into a penalty shootout. With the score tied at 4-4 after five rounds, Mahesh Naorem scores for India and Gurpreet Singh Sandhu makes a magnificent save, securing India’s win. The home fans and Indian team celebrate wildly.

Kuwait initially takes the lead through Shabaib Al Khaldi in the 14th minute, but Lallianzuala Chhangte equalizes for India in the 39th minute. This is India’s second penalty shootout victory in the tournament, having defeated Lebanon in the semifinals. Captain Sunil Chhetri, Sandesh Jhingan, Chhangte, Subasish Bose, and Mahesh successfully convert their penalties, while Udanta Singh misses.

The match sees intense action in both halves, with Kuwait pressing forward and creating chances. Chhangte’s goal levels the score, and the second half and extra time remain goalless. Injuries, yellow cards, and numerous corners add to the drama. The penalty shootout ultimately determines the champion.

About Post Author

Toshika Chauhan

Spread the love

Average Rating

5 Star
4 Star
3 Star
2 Star
1 Star

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Previous post Delhi’s Sarai Rohila: 2 Arrested for Fatal Stabbing
CWC23 Next post Expert Insights: Sourav Ganguly’s Predictions for the 2023 World Cup Semi-Finalists