Bangladesh Women’s T20l Team Surprises India for Consolation Win in Dhaka Finale

Read Time:1 Minute, 42 Second

The Bangladesh team achieved their first T20I victory against the Asian giants India in 3 years on Thursday, July 13th as the hosts capitalized on the visitors’ batting failure in Dhaka, leaving Harmanpreet Kaur and her side paying the price.

India emerged victorious against Bangladesh with a 2-1 win in the T20I series. (Photo: AFP)

On Thursday, July 13th, the Bangladeshi women’s cricket team achieved a remarkable victory over the Indian women’s cricket team in the final T20I of a 3-game series at the Shere Bangla National Stadium.

India’s 2-0 lead in the series was not enough to maintain their dominance as Bangladesh pulled off an unexpected win. Despite winning the toss and opting to bat first, India Women could only manage to score 102 runs for 9 wickets in their allotted 20 overs, with Harmanpreet Kaur contributing the most with 40 runs off 41 balls.

Unfortunately, India’s total proved to be inadequate for the opposition. While India had managed to defend 95 earlier in the series, their batting failure in the 3rd T20I came back to haunt them.

The Bangladesh women’s cricket team put up an impressive display of determination and composure in their innings, comfortably chasing a target of 102 against India in the 3rd and final T20I of the series, ending their innings at 103 for 6 off 18.2 overs.

Shamima Sultana’s knock of 42 was instrumental in securing a notable victory, which marked their third-ever triumph against India in women’s cricket. Rabeya Khan’s three-wicket haul contributed significantly to restricting India’s batting lineup.

In contrast, Minnu Mani and Devika Vaidya of India did manage to pick up two wickets each, but it was not enough to clinch the win. Disappointingly, the 200th international match of Smriti Mandhana, an esteemed Indian batter, ended in defeat as she could only muster a meager score of 1 run before being dismissed.

India will now be taking on Bangladesh in a 3-match ODI series at the Shere Bangla Stadium starting from July 16th to 22nd.

About Post Author

Toshika Chauhan

Spread the love

Average Rating

5 Star
4 Star
3 Star
2 Star
1 Star

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Previous post Delhi Hit by Floods: Roads Underwater, Massive Jams, Metro and Schools Shut
Next post Chandrayaan-3 Launched: Set to Land on Moon in the Near Future