Archer out for summer, Bairstow returns for England-Ireland Test

Read Time:1 Minute, 50 Second

Jofra Archer won’t be playing for the summer, while Jonny Bairstow will be joining the England Test squad as a wicketkeeper, replacing Ben Foakes.

Jofra Archer has been ruled out for the summer as England reveals their squad for the Ireland Test. (Photo: AFP)

Jofra Archer, the England pacer, has been deemed unfit for the Ashes series against Australia. Meanwhile, Jonny Bairstow, who has fully recovered, has been called back to the Test squad for the one-off match against Ireland scheduled next month.

Archer, who recently returned in January after a 17-month absence due to elbow and back injuries, has been ruled out “for the rest of the summer.” His Indian Premier League (IPL) stint with the Mumbai Indians was also cut short due to a persistent injury. Rob Key, the managing director of England men’s cricket, expressed his sympathy for Archer, describing it as a frustrating and upsetting period for the player.

Archer’s progress was halted by a recurrence of his elbow injury, which had previously kept him out for an extended period. Despite this setback, the management expects him to make a strong comeback and contribute to England’s victories in all formats. They hope for his recovery to happen sooner rather than later.


Jonny Bairstow, who missed the T20 World Cup due to a golf injury, has returned to the England Test squad for the match against Ireland. Wicketkeeper Ben Foakes was dropped to accommodate Bairstow for the Test at Lord’s starting on June 1.

Chris Woakes, the Warwickshire pacer, is making a comeback to the Test squad after his last appearance in March 2022. Mark Wood, the Durham fast bowler, also returns after missing the New Zealand tour.

Skipper Ben Stokes and pacer James Anderson, who have minor injuries (left knee and groin, respectively), are included in the squad. The Ashes series against Australia will commence on June 16 at Edgbaston.

England’s squad for the one-off Test against Ireland comprises Ben Stokes as captain, along with players such as James Anderson, Jonny Bairstow, Stuart Broad, Harry Brook, Zak Crawley, Ben Duckett, Dan Lawrence, Jack Leach, Ollie Pope, Matthew Potts, Ollie Robinson, Joe Root, Chris Woakes, and Mark Wood.

About Post Author

Toshika Chauhan

Spread the love

Average Rating

5 Star
4 Star
3 Star
2 Star
1 Star

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Previous post Ukraine claims it intercepted multiple Russian hypersonic missiles using US Patriot defense system
Next post BJP’s Letpao urges separate state amid Manipur violence, refuses to return to valley despite hunger threat